Wednesday, March 19, 2008

Pryor is a Buckeye, Coach Rod Grovels, Penn St, "too country"?

After arranging a press conference set for noon on Wed. March 18th #1 rated high school prospect Terrelle Pryor, signed with the Buckeyes. This is good news for Pryor trust me, nothing would have earned him the undying hatred of people across the world (Columbus) had he signed with Michigan and their sell out coach Rich Rodriguez.

While I completely agree that Rich Rod probably only left
WVU in order to escape the heartbreak and the embarrassment of his teams eternal dismantling at the Pitt game, I still don't understand the man's strange reasoning for departure and I certainly don't agree with the way he left fighting off the University for dollars when he CLEARLY LEFT BEFORE HIS CONTRACT WAS UP, as well as the fact that he couldn't even finish up the season (what if Coach Jim Tressel acted that way? Oh yea he wouldn't because buckeye fans would probably flip his car over and hang effigies of him)

Pryor in his press conference said that upon telling coach Rod that he would sign with Ohio State that the Michigan coach simply continued "dropping lines on him" and continued to try to recruit him . . . which as an avid Michigan hater shows me that the coach is pathetic and begging for Pryor to sign . . . it also shows me (being realistic now) that Coach Rod didn't respect Pryors decision. His father who was pushing Penn State (which is really the reason we all waited so long, aside from perhaps a streak of primadona-ism that I would gladly have one of our Ohio State Linebackers stomp out quick) may have been shocked to find out that Penn State was simply "too country" for him . . . As I'm watching for the first time I am really sitting here thinking "Oh my God, he's either being terribly honest (hard to find) or he is lying his ass off and couldn't put the time in to think of a better reason". But in all honestly people, why would Coach Joe Paterno go after this kid if he was that much of a snob . . . I have seen Jim Tressel give people second chances (search: "college career of Troy Smith") . . .

but Coach Paterno and Tressel are the real deal as far as trying their best to run a clean cut program. So it's my question as to why they would recruit this kid (aside from sheer perceived talent perhaps?) if he wasn't going to cut it from a character standpoint.

Now the to the football aspect. During this press conference we heard the word "Tebow" in my opinion too many times. Pryor said he had spoken with Coach Tressel already about how he was going to be used in the offense. Pryor stated that he would be used JUST LIKE TEBOW was used to "run the football" in certain situations . . .


Terrelle Pryor simply isn't as big as Tim Tebow. Maybe it's a 30 or 40 pound difference I'm not sure . . . Pryor may even be taller than Tim but height is the last thing I'm getting at. Tebow is an ex-linebacker/tightend playing quarterback. Pryor is a quarterback period. While they may be both best suited to a spread offensive set or system, Pryor is not going to run over linebackers in the Big Ten. I'm not even sure if he could run over some of the bigger defensive backs. The best play for Terrelle Pryor? Maybe not the zone read or QB keeper, it's just too predictable, and a lot of football enthusiasts would agree that it may be the easiest play to sniff out when you see a freshman Tebow or Pryor line up at QB. Perhaps a speed option out of the gun would be the best thing for Pryor. Remember people Pryor did not run a spread offense at Jeannete, it was a lot of option out of the I and drop back passing . . .

My POINT IS . . . The Ohio State Coaching staff better do 2 things.

1) throw out the manilla offense FOR THE TERRELLE PRYOR package
We cant run a plain basic QB sneak, we need a loaded (fullback lead) sneak, with a jump pass to compliment it and then we need a . . . . (you get the point, don't be afraid of ingenuity)

2) if the zone read or QB power are the only plays in a "Terrelle Pryor" package than he will never be effective. Give him plays that allow him to be effective THROWING the ball as well as a VARIETY of ways to RUN the ball. For example like a QB wide sweep, followed by a lot of sprint out passing, and several different ways to run the option etc etc.

Finally I THINK Pryor made the best choice in picking Ohio State because at least in Columbus he will not be thrown to the wolves and be expected to do it all, he will be given as much as he can grasp and be effective in small doses in his first year.

He will not lose to Ohio State 4 years in a row.

He will not be eclipsed by the lack of west coast coverage as he would have at Oregon

I think he'll be in good shape at Ohio State provided he keeps his mouth shut and doesn't get in any trouble (search: Antonio Henton, OR Maurice Clarett)

Monday, March 10, 2008

Favre gone, Moss Signed, Coughlin Irrelevant

In what seemed like a funeral procession on the NFL network, the entire football community pays its respect to the long gone gun slinger of yesteryear, and . . . well we aren't quite past that point yet. Everyone i know has been touched more by Favre's "retirement", some even more so than they were touched by his impact on the field.

I am willing to bet money that Brett Favre as good a player as he was wasn't looking for ALL this. What I mean to say is, people are getting up early in the morning and late at night, turning on the TV and hearing about Brett Favre as opposed to say . . . their morning news fix, the weather, or news in free agency. Just the (oxymoron) everlasting-FINALITY OF IT ALL, is starting to get on my nerves. Maybe its just me though, I am constantly watching the NFL Network, and I think thats were most of the Favre flooding is coming from.

Onto the FOOTBALL ASPECT (is there such a thing today with the off-field issues nearly eclipsing the on-field ones?) of Favre's Retirement. This in my opinion leaves the NFC North wide open. Not like I live in the area and have a scouting report on the division or anything but you would have to imagine that Detroit, AT SOME POINT IN THE SEASON, had a good team last year (right?). The Bears went to the Super Bowl recently (anybody remember that?), I don't know if they are just on the Tampa Bay super bowl slump fix or what but they used to be pretty good largely due to defense and a working running game. The Vikings have the best runningback in the NFL . . . and before the LT fans click the X on this blog I want you to understand something.

1) NOBODY played better at the RUNNINGBACK position last year than Adrian Peterson. As important as they are to any offensive SCHEME the half and halfers (good yards rushing and receiving) do not equate to excellent runningback play.

2) Ladanian Tomlinson played a sub par season last year according to both HIS and top RB standards. As you know the NFL is all about "what have you done for me lately".

3) Adrian Peterson had no passing game, Phillip Rivers is an established starter who will not be replaced for any reason within (or outside of) that franchise and had a passing game that you must respect.

NOW back to my what I was saying. Regardless of what the Vikings do they will be a contender in the division next year being as they missed the playoffs BUT WERE ACTUALLY IN THE RUNNING last year. They will have a rebuilt team that is 2 years into the rebuilding, and thats always a positive.

Randy Moss resigned by the Patriots

This is important predominantly because it should keep Corners and Defensive Coordinators up a little bit later this off season. Had Randy gone back to an Oakland (by the way how is that Jamarcus Russell guy workin out for ya?) or some other team that is in no way going anywhere this year or next, he would have slid back into mediocrity because the media is fickle and you just GOTTA know how to use this guy (as if its a complicated concept). The fact that he picked New England for less money is an overstated one. While some would point to the fact that he just wants a shot win a ring we should keep in mind that he may also very well be on his way down as far as his prime is concerned, but who knows maybe he will be another Troy Brown and stick around and PRODUCE for years to come. Not too sure about that one, I certainly don't want to get caught in the same trap as those who sat here last year and said the man had aged even a bit. Randy will do great again, I really don't know if the entire New England offense will blaze the way it did last year, performances like that are almost once in a decade (citing the mid 90's Vikings team that originally set the points record).

AND LADIES AND GENTLEMEN THE FINALE!!!

Coach Tom Coughlin has reworked his contract and will be with the Giants for atleast another 4 years! (I think that's what it is . . . 4?)

I'll get to my point quickly . . .

This is the most irrelevant piece of REAL news (fake news being stupid things like Roethlisberger ran over his kitty kat while riding his motorcycle, ya know things you read and you realize that the media is REALLY "stretching" it) on the wires as of now.

"Why does this not matter? I don't even care that much about this in the first place." You say to yourself.

Quite bluntly the reason why its the most irrelevant piece of news to date is because THE GIANTS ARE NOT EVEN CONFERENCE CONTENDERS NEXT YEAR, they are not even DIVISIONAL contenders. And the NFC East has little to do with it(as some might be quick to remind me it's because it's such a "tough" division). They were simply the BEST team at the end of the year last year. Hands down, no one could have beat them (and I do mean playoffs specifically). Ask New Orleans, Atlanta, and Cincinatti . . . the hot hand team is guided entirely by when the hot hand hits, and as you can see with the previously mentioned teams, when its gone its usually gone for a while, as none of the previously mentioned teams ever got it back.