Monday, March 10, 2008

Favre gone, Moss Signed, Coughlin Irrelevant

In what seemed like a funeral procession on the NFL network, the entire football community pays its respect to the long gone gun slinger of yesteryear, and . . . well we aren't quite past that point yet. Everyone i know has been touched more by Favre's "retirement", some even more so than they were touched by his impact on the field.

I am willing to bet money that Brett Favre as good a player as he was wasn't looking for ALL this. What I mean to say is, people are getting up early in the morning and late at night, turning on the TV and hearing about Brett Favre as opposed to say . . . their morning news fix, the weather, or news in free agency. Just the (oxymoron) everlasting-FINALITY OF IT ALL, is starting to get on my nerves. Maybe its just me though, I am constantly watching the NFL Network, and I think thats were most of the Favre flooding is coming from.

Onto the FOOTBALL ASPECT (is there such a thing today with the off-field issues nearly eclipsing the on-field ones?) of Favre's Retirement. This in my opinion leaves the NFC North wide open. Not like I live in the area and have a scouting report on the division or anything but you would have to imagine that Detroit, AT SOME POINT IN THE SEASON, had a good team last year (right?). The Bears went to the Super Bowl recently (anybody remember that?), I don't know if they are just on the Tampa Bay super bowl slump fix or what but they used to be pretty good largely due to defense and a working running game. The Vikings have the best runningback in the NFL . . . and before the LT fans click the X on this blog I want you to understand something.

1) NOBODY played better at the RUNNINGBACK position last year than Adrian Peterson. As important as they are to any offensive SCHEME the half and halfers (good yards rushing and receiving) do not equate to excellent runningback play.

2) Ladanian Tomlinson played a sub par season last year according to both HIS and top RB standards. As you know the NFL is all about "what have you done for me lately".

3) Adrian Peterson had no passing game, Phillip Rivers is an established starter who will not be replaced for any reason within (or outside of) that franchise and had a passing game that you must respect.

NOW back to my what I was saying. Regardless of what the Vikings do they will be a contender in the division next year being as they missed the playoffs BUT WERE ACTUALLY IN THE RUNNING last year. They will have a rebuilt team that is 2 years into the rebuilding, and thats always a positive.

Randy Moss resigned by the Patriots

This is important predominantly because it should keep Corners and Defensive Coordinators up a little bit later this off season. Had Randy gone back to an Oakland (by the way how is that Jamarcus Russell guy workin out for ya?) or some other team that is in no way going anywhere this year or next, he would have slid back into mediocrity because the media is fickle and you just GOTTA know how to use this guy (as if its a complicated concept). The fact that he picked New England for less money is an overstated one. While some would point to the fact that he just wants a shot win a ring we should keep in mind that he may also very well be on his way down as far as his prime is concerned, but who knows maybe he will be another Troy Brown and stick around and PRODUCE for years to come. Not too sure about that one, I certainly don't want to get caught in the same trap as those who sat here last year and said the man had aged even a bit. Randy will do great again, I really don't know if the entire New England offense will blaze the way it did last year, performances like that are almost once in a decade (citing the mid 90's Vikings team that originally set the points record).

AND LADIES AND GENTLEMEN THE FINALE!!!

Coach Tom Coughlin has reworked his contract and will be with the Giants for atleast another 4 years! (I think that's what it is . . . 4?)

I'll get to my point quickly . . .

This is the most irrelevant piece of REAL news (fake news being stupid things like Roethlisberger ran over his kitty kat while riding his motorcycle, ya know things you read and you realize that the media is REALLY "stretching" it) on the wires as of now.

"Why does this not matter? I don't even care that much about this in the first place." You say to yourself.

Quite bluntly the reason why its the most irrelevant piece of news to date is because THE GIANTS ARE NOT EVEN CONFERENCE CONTENDERS NEXT YEAR, they are not even DIVISIONAL contenders. And the NFC East has little to do with it(as some might be quick to remind me it's because it's such a "tough" division). They were simply the BEST team at the end of the year last year. Hands down, no one could have beat them (and I do mean playoffs specifically). Ask New Orleans, Atlanta, and Cincinatti . . . the hot hand team is guided entirely by when the hot hand hits, and as you can see with the previously mentioned teams, when its gone its usually gone for a while, as none of the previously mentioned teams ever got it back.

No comments: